ARTIST WEBSITE: The Young Sinclairs at Planting Seeds Records


BASE OF OPERATION: Roanoke, Virginia

LAST RELEASE: "We Spoke Our Minds" (2010)


FOR FANS OF: The Byrds, The Essex Green, The Church, The Brian Jonetown Massacre, The Kinks, The Beatles, etc.

The Young Sinclairs

Heavily influenced by the sonic landscape of the 60’s, the latest release - “We Spoke Our Minds” is full of shimmering guitars, sweepingly melodic vocals, and slices of timeless pop-nuggets. The moment the needle touches vinyl, The Young Sinclairs are off and running with the reverb-laden excitement of the title track. This is quickly followed by the raw jangly romp of “You Can Have Her” complete with a fantastic electric twelve-string guitar break and “Oh yeah” refrain. On the flipside ”Girl I’m For Real” rolls out with its bass heavy induced groove, while the sweet harmonies of “Have A Home” takes flight and soars to new heights. The digital release contains two bonus cuts: The pastoral psyche-folk gem “Forever After” and the swirling atmospheric glow of “Memory System”.

The Young Sinclairs have been bringing their brand of psych/folk/rock (RIYL: The Byrds, Kinks, The Essex Green, Rain Parade etc.) to the world since 2005 as part of Roanoke, Virginia’s the Magic Twig Community. The band features: John Thompson, Daniel Cundiff (Eternal Summers), Sean Poff, Jonathan Woods, and Samuel Lunsford (ex 63 Crayons). In their five years they have self released several full length LPs, EPs and cassettes. Along with their new "We Spoke Our Minds E.P." the band has just recently released two vinyl only LP's "Songs Of The Young Sinclairs" (Kindercore Records) and "Chimeys" (Chimney Sweep Records) . In 2009 the band toured the east coast with Australia’s The Lovetones. Much more is in the works, stay tuned.


We Spoke Our Minds